Saturday, July 16, 2005

2005 Eisner Award Winners

These were announced last night in San Diego. And the winners are:

Best Humor Publication:
The Goon; Eric Powell

Best Publication for a Younger Audience:
Plastic Man; Kyle Baker and Scott Morse

Best Anthology:
Michael Chabon Presents The Amazing Adventures of the Escapist; Diana Schutz and David Land, editors.

Best Coloring:
Dave Stewart; Daredevil, Ultimate X-Men Ultimate Six, Captain America, Conan, BRPD, DC: The New Frontier

Best Lettering:
Todd Klein; Promethea, Tom Strong, Tom Strong's Terrific Tales, Wonder Woman, Books of Magick: Life During Wartime, Fables, WE3, Creatures of the Night.

Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition:
Sean McKeever; A Waiting Place, Mary Jane, Inhumans, Sentinels

Best US Edition of Foreign Material:
Buddah, Vols 3-4; Osamu Tezuka

Best Digital Comic:
Mom's Cancer; Brian Fies

Best Publication Design:
The Complete Peanuts; Seth

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker team:
TIE John Cassaday; Astonishing X-Men, Planetary, I Am Legion: The Dancing Faun AND Frank Quitely, WE3.

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art):
Teddy Kristiansen; It's a Bird.

Best Cover Artist:
James Jean; Fables, Green Arrow, Batgirl.

Best Comics-Related Periodical:
Comic Book Artist; Jon B Cooke, editor.

Best Comics-Related Book:
Men of Tomorrow: Geeks, Gangsters and the Birth of the Comic Book; Gerard Jones

Best Archival Collection/Project:
The Complete Peanuts; Gary Groth, editor.

Best Graphic Album--Reprint:
Bone One Volume Edition; Jeff Smith.

Best Graphic Album--New:
The Originals; Dave Gibbons.

Best Writer:
Brian K Vaughn; Y: The Last Man, Ex Machina, Runaways.

Best Writer/Artist:
Paul Chadwick; Concrete, the Human Dilemma.

Best Writer/Artist—
Humor: Kyle Baker; Plastic Man, Kyle Baker: Cartoonist.

Best Short Story:
Unfamiliar; Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson.

Best Serialized Story:
Fables #19-27 "March of the Wooden Soldiers"; Bill Willingham, Mark Buckingham, Steve Leialoha

Best Single Issue/One Shot:
Eightball #23 "The Death Ray"; Dan Clowes

Best New Series:
Ex Machina; Bran K Vaughn, Tony Harris, Tom Feister

Best Limited Series:
DC: The New Frontier; Darwyn Cooke

Best Continuing Series:
The Goon; Eric Powell

Hall of Fame: Lou Fine (Judge's selection) Rene Goscinny (Judge's
selection) Albert Uderzo (Judge's selection) Nick Cardy, Gene Colan,
Johnny Craig, Hugo Pratt.

As always, many of the Comic-Con International awards were given out
during the evening's presentation as well. The awards were given to:

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Awards:
Night Flight Comics,
Salt Lake City, UT

CBLDF Defender of Freedom Award:
Denis Kitchen

Bill Finger Excellence in Comics Writing Award:
Jerry Siegel and Arnold Drake

Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award:
Chris Bailey; Major Damage.

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award:
George Perez.

Oddly enough, I was reading New Frontier probably right around the time Cooke got his award.

Congratulations to everyone.

No comments: